Awards Season

Blogger Appreciation Award

appreciate

The Rules of the Award:

We don’t got no stinking rules !  (No, wait, that’s a different version of me).  So, the etiquette protocols are:

(1) Thank the blogger who nominated you, link back to his / her site.

(2) Write a paragraph of something positive about yourself.

(3) Nominate and notify as many bloggers as you wish.

(4) Use the award image.

**************************************************************

#1   SparksFromACombustibleMind

It’s hard to recall how long Sparks and I have been communicating via the internet.  We first met on a blog site elsewhere a few years back, and her perspective on life and it’s related challenges and humor pulled me in.   Not at all wishy washy, I appreciate her willingness to share whatever’s on her mind.  The creative writing exercises are particularly escapist and fun.  I also love her stories and images about Utah, and not just because I made a mad dash through the state.  Once.  I’m absolutely going to get back there some day to actually experience the National Parks (vs. just using it as the fastest cross-country route to Massachusetts).

**************************************************************

#2  Positive Thought About Me:

Most people think Disney’s Eeyore when they think of me.

Eeyore      Seriously.

I’ve been accused of being a Polly-anna in life (I can’t see it, and my family will assure you that I’m way too big a P-I-T-A to ever quality for that award), but if something I wrote brings you a new perspective, and you find some joy while going through all the crap that one MUST deal with each day, then my mission’s been accomplished.

Enjoy !

***************************************************************

(3) Nominate and notify as many bloggers as you wish.

* Disclaimer: Nobody needs to feel they HAVE to participate.  I know some host “award free” blogs and that’s certainly to be respected.   But the ones who want, please do participate.   I find that so many undiscovered and excellent blogs are shared in this way.

I nominate the following bloggers, and in no particular order.  They may not publish daily, but when I have time, I check them out to see what I’m missing:

Wheezing Away

Dealing with the very reason why I’m here – to get my head around my COPD diagnosis.   I appreciate his take on the world on any given day.  Plus, I like the fact that he’s been approved for disability, and still gets up and tries to accomplish things each day.  Our failing bodies should not be our prisons, regardless of what the insurance companies and/or our former employers may think for determining when or if someone qualifies for medical disability.

COPD Athlete

Not just because he’s dealing with COPD in his own way, or because he’s from my favorite vacation country, Australia; I enjoy reading of his triumphs.  Especially on days when I’m too tired to do more than simply sit and exist.

Problems With Infinity

It was the cartoons and the boyfriend stories that first pulled me in.  I love her quirky sense of humor, and eagerly look forward to anything new she wishes to share.   Today’s take on Pancakes had me smiling, as did Decembers, “Zap Dancing for Charity“.  The illustrations just work for me.

Police Commander

I’d tried wordpress a few years back, when Sparks suggested that she was leaving our then-blogging site and moving on up to a new refuge in the hills of the internet known as “wordpress”.  Upon my first visit here, Police Commander caught my attention as we were in the midst of #BlackLivesMatter in the USA.

I think it was his post, The Loss of Innocence, that roped me in and kept me reading.  We are on the same page that violence as a whole has become more graphic, and senseless.  With every step forward we take as a global civilization, we also have to keep dealing with the mindless, numbing horrors that we hope are someday to be relegated to our uncivilized past.

The best comparison I have to why I find his stories compelling:  A Clockwork Orange was filmed in 1971, more than 45 years ago, and scared the crap out of me (almost as badly as “The Exorcist”).  Yet, we can’t seem to break the cycle of our own habits toward tribal warfare and senseless violence, despite the expanding conversation among many nations about the values of peace and peaceful co-existence.  He provides perspective from across the blue line, and I appreciate his insight.

Gaffney Coaching Blog

As with COPD Athlete, watching anyone achieve their goals is inspiring.  While I cannot cycle any longer due to my breathing difficulties, I like learning about what he has to say regarding Yoga, Stretching, Performance, and what one can do to be a better version of themselves every day.

Man Vs. Gym

Finally, I’d nominate ManVsGym (a facebook favorite), if he had a wordpress site, but he doesn’t seem to have a page.  If you want daily workout inspiration that deals with enthusiasm, being the best you can be every day, and never saying “die”, the Kevin’s Da Man.

******************************************************************

I just realized that I have a lot of “athletic” favorites for someone who is pretty much a couch potato.  Hmmm…  Where’s Freud when ya need him?

Meanwhile, there are lots of interesting other pages that I follow, and omitting them is not meant as a slight at all.  Different things appeal to different folks, so get out there and make the most of your wordpress adventure.  You may find you’re surprised at what appeals to you.

Leave a comment