Murmuration

Murmuration over Boldermere

via Daily Prompt: Murmuration

I’ve spent a lot of my time over the years wandering the fields, marshes and backroads of wherever I’ve lived.

Raised in New England, I spent many Summers walking the shores of a lake in New Hampshire, or wandering through the wetlands of Cape Cod.  I’m not sure if it is a throwback to a forgotten time, described in wonderful books such as, “Little Women”, or the fact that there was no money at home after the divorce, so anything I did had to be free of charge and both fulfilling / exhausting to ensure to use up my excess energy.  As I work to motivate myself to step away from the keyboard, I also wonder if my love of nature at the quiet moments of dawn and dusk are due to the fact that technology hadn’t yet entered my life, there being only 3 channels available to me during my formative, pre-teen years.

Whatever it is that has me back to wandering the fields and hills surrounding my new home and incredibly tight Budget, I am grateful that I was born in a time when technology was young.  I am glad that I grew up listening to the murmuration of startled birds as I tromped along their grassy shore homes.  Murmuration is what brings comfort to my soul when everything else is in chaos.

 

Leave a Reply

