Desperation and Health

quack-doctor

Quacks are everywhere.

Good doctors are everywhere.

Telling the difference between the two is a challenge to many people who are desperate to improve the quality of life they are experiencing when trying to heal diabetes, COPD, etc.

A few weeks ago, in early February, I went to a seminar hosted by Chiropractor and former Civil Engineer, Dr. Michael Pierce, who claims to have a solution to Diabetes if you’ll participate in his program.  (I wrote about it in Authortarian Shaman)

Bambis Dr Michael Pierce Wellness

During the seminar, we were given a fast hustle / upsell where he didn’t want any questions, and promised to answer all questions at the end of the event.  Never happened. The only questions that he wanted to answer were whether or not you were ready to pay $49 to attend a private “assessment” consultation, and schedule your appointment.

When I pushed back on this upsell and asked if I could wait until I got my tax refund (because the value of the assessment was quoted at $250), I was told that I “didn’t value my health enough as a priority in my life”, and told that I would have to pay $250 once I found that I was ready to “get serious”.

Then I went home and found that this consultation was free if you skipped the seminar and went directly to the appointment setting via their website:

Dr Pierce Wellness Seminars

So, I was frustrated at a “sounds too good to be true” push for cash from me, especially since they weren’t able to tell me how much the initial assessment and subsequent services were likely to cost in order to determine if this program could help me.  Seemed like a whole bunch of snake oil was being pedaled.

meds4

My very good friend, B, however, went ahead with the appointment and I just found out that she had to sign up for a line of medical credit in order to pay for the services.  To the tune of $7,000.  Talk about high-pressure sales !

While I am happy that B is feeling better, that the treatments and supplements appear to be working, I am still dismayed that someone feels it’s necessary to utilize high pressure tactics to get someone to sign away such a large amount of money.  Clearly, they knew it would have a $7,000 price tag, or they wouldn’t have signed her up for the medical credit account in order to fund the necessary testing.

I get it that everyone is in medicine for monetary enrichment.  I have no problem with people making a profit.  I do, however, have a problem with high-pressure tactics and with excessive charges being run up while we “see” if the treatment will work.  All while hiding the likely initial cost of the treatment.

I have nothing further to say on this topic right now, but I did want to post on a topic that I first wrote about a month ago to let you know that the treatment appears to be working very well.

Whether or not it’s snake oil is too soon to determine.

Whether or not it’s going to work long term and is worth the price is also too soon to determine.

For now, she’s happy and I’m pleased for her.

As for the Chiropractor doing the hustle for his treatments, I’m still not a fan.

Leave a Reply

