Still out of sorts

img_1028

It’s been an interesting couple of days.  Pouring rain, which makes fighting my sleepiness incredibly hard.

Luckily, despite some rain damage to my gutter, I don’t appear to have any rain damage in my house.

(This video was taken about 6:45 am last Friday morning, as incredibly high winds tore part of the gutter off the roof of my home).

Luckily, it didn’t damage anyone else’s property (phew!), but that also means that the work I had done this Summer to reseal my roof will need to be reinspected, possibly some patch resealing done, and I’ll have to get new gutters and get someone to install the missing length, while checking all the rest of my gutters for knowing whether or not they should all be replaced at once.

Did I ever tell you how much I dislike being a homeowner?!!

Frankly, this repair has me scared and considering canceling my UK bucket list trip as I don’t know how I will afford everything given the state of this mobile home.

Everyone says that homeownership is the best way to affordable retirement / disability when health issues arise.  Frankly, I’m not convinced.

*If* I was on a subsidized housing wait list, the most money that would be taken from my monthly check is 30% of my monthly income, or less than $800 a month.

Right now, I’m paying more than 50% of my income on mortage and space fees (which include cable, water, sewer, trash, gas and electric fees – that the park mandates and which my efforts to conserve don’t seem to dent).

I was told my monthly expenses would never be higher than $750 a month for the space fees and add-ons, and I’m running about $900 (or $150 a month more than anticipated), before we deal with ongoing maintenance and improvement related expenses.

$150 a month doesn’t sound like much.  Until you don’t have it.

Add in my deductibles being increased across the board on my healthcare costs, and that the cost of my meds is through the roof at $145 for the most necessary prescription (when last year it cost me $35 a month), and it’s a recipe for disaster.

We had a running joke in my family that only I could get a government job and have that “secure” job fail as the government went bankrupt and laid off all city workers.*

What’s really strange is my relationship with money and so-called “blue chip” or secure investments.  Every stock I’ve ever purchased has lost money.  Seriously.

So, should I be surprised that home ownership and being on disability are not the short term solutions I’d hoped they would be?

Nah.

If I wrote my life story down, no one would believe it’s true because I just seem to go from disaster to disaster.

I’m finding it macabrely fascinating that all I want to do is tie up a few loose ends before I go.  Not live beyond my means or reserves.  Not be a burden to anyone else, and yet the fates go, “ha!”

Not sure how this drama will end in the short term for staying out of trouble financially, but for now I have an attitude problem I’m trying to shake.

Hopefully, one of the pots of promised money will come through for me before I have to cancel my final bucket list trip. Until this matter is resolved, please pardon my sucky attitude.

  • City of Richmond, CA, 2004.  First City Bankruptcy I’d ever heard of.

Leave a Reply

