Pickpockets and Passages

pickpockets

Well, I’ve ended the woefully expensive year of 2016 with a bank balance (soon to be rectified) of -$3.26

This isn’t bad, considering that I entered the month with a balance of -$2,3xx and managed to scrape together enough money to resolve all my outstanding medical bills by the 11th hour, as of today, 31-DEC-16.

– Cancelled the upcoming appointment with the therapist.

– Cancelled the upcoming appointment for the housecleaner.

– Cancelled my hair coloring appointment.

– Scrapped my pride and agreed to let someone repay a gift of $1,300

Again, I found that my employer paid me by mistake – which they will probably try and claw back – but which I used on the outstanding medical and dental bills that they were supposed to cover, but which they decided were not their responsibility.

Luckily, though, the lawyer told me to use the money against any outstanding needs (thank you – great minds think alike).  He will go back after them for my short-term disability pay that they refused to match, even though I have a letter indicating that they would cover my salary for 100% from October through December 31, 2015, and at 60% from January 1st, 2016, through retirement in September 2027.

My feeling is that it’s not my fault that they aren’t paying me.

My feeling is that they owe me this money.

And, no matter how convenient my feelings and thinking may be, my opinion is that possession is 9/10ths of the law.   I’m not paying any money back until forced to do so.

I am not sure how they can justify claiming a third mistake to pay me, when clearly their systems are set up to provide my benefits payments, but that payment is being round filed between itself and its insurance company, vs. being paid out to me.  So, a little rough justice is in order.

Otherwise, when I look back on this prior year of 2016, I can gladly agree that it’s been a rough year for all, and I’m happy to be shed of it.

Here’s hoping that 2017 will be better for all concerned.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

