Fishing

via Daily Prompt: Fishing

04-jul-13-02-fishing-at-bayfront-park

While I prefer fishing at the Grandparent’s lake in NH, I don’t live there anymore and often have to settle for the salt marshes along San Francisco bay.  (Pictured above, by Menlo Park).

route-35-sf-bay-view

The white patch in the distance in the second picture is also of the San Francisco Bay as  I drive along Route 35 in Woodside, by Stanford University in Palo Alto / Stanford, CA.

I’m up in the hills, making my way toward Santa Cruz / Felton so that I can go fishing on Loch Lomond, where I hear there are fish (I have no actual success in capturing any, so it’s more a rumor than fact at this point).

jo-waiting-to-fish-march-20-2016

I will go fishing with a hiking friend, and we’ll take a paddle boat out on the loch, and I’ll spend all my time trying to catch something while she gets off to hike for a bit before coming back to join me.

Dealing with COPD, the effort to paddle there (even sharing the work) can be quite taxing, so I stay in the boat when she goes off to hike, as I just can’t get to my feet as I’ve used up all my energy and need to recoup.

be-happy-now-its-complicated

Fishing is the best of all things for me.  I get outdoors.  I get to look like I’m being active.  Mostly, I get to pass for normal for a little bit by doing something easy.  Fishing is one of the highlights of my life.  Fishing keeps me well.

Leave a Reply

