Lollygagging – 1st Anniversary

image1

I’m very behind in getting packed and ready to move, but since I can’t work continuously without a break, I’m busy writing my 1st Anniversary blog.

I noted in the middle of packing to move that I’ve been off work since October 1st, 2015, and blogging for at least a year about the “adventure” of embracing reality, and accepting that I have COPD.  While it’s clear that I can’t hide it any more, the challenges from other people continue to occur as I seem “too well” to be on disability.

Very happy that I can maintain my levels of wellness for appearances sake.

Very happy that I’ve gotten through this Summer relatively unscathed from the changes in heat and humidity.

Very happy that I found halo therapy to help me nip exacerbations in the bud for fighting off a cold / congestion.

Despite all those positives, though, I’m still not doing my best as I fight the good fight to try and downsize my life and reign in my expectations.

This time last year, I wasn’t sure what lay ahead.  How I would survive financially.  How I would get through the process of applying for disability:

September 28, 2015 – Aging and Embracing Change

September 29, 2015 – The 11th hour before freedom

October 8, 2015 – Learning Limits

October 17, 2015 – Perspective

A year later, though, I’m on SSDI (Federally-managed disability), I have a home that I can afford (barely – no room for much in the way of fun), and I’m in lawsuit hell with my employer to see if I can wrestle them to the ground for the disability benefits I paid in to in terms of matching salary until retirement age (67) or death (whenever), plus group rate medical insurance continuance (much cheaper than going it alone).

It’s great to see how much progress has been made despite all my whining.

It’s also daunting to see how much further is left to go (especially considering the fact that I want to get to the UK for next June, and they are keeping my money tied up since they haven’t terminated me, and they won’t pay me).

Whatever happens, it’s clear that – a year after the fact – this was the right decision that needed to be made for me.

I was dropping items (and the cat) off at the mobile home last night, and it was so nice to hear laughter from one of my next door neighbors.  Just something so simple, and it makes one feel welcome.

As I begin year 2 of being on disability, it’s clear that it’s all going to be ok – regardless of how rocky the trip is at certain points along the way.

Whatever you’re doing today, if you’re reading this and looking back over your past year, too, I hope you’re glad with what you find.

Leave a Reply

