Managing Expectations

Smaller Glass

I am very impressed by all that Russ Winwood can accomplish, as noted in his latest cycling adventure.  Despite working with only 26% lung capacity, he gets out and manages to accomplish things that I would never dream of trying.  That’s not to say that he doesn’t have exacerbations and challenging days, but to emphasize that he sets goals and is able to accomplish many of them despite suffering from COPD.

That’s kind of where I’m at with my version of the disease, too.

Also at 26% lung capacity, my ability to breathe and keep up varies from day to day and is largely based on weather conditions, how much rest I have gotten, whether or not I’m in pain in my neck, back and arm, etc.

Right now, I’m doing what I can to rehab my mobile home without being foolish with my physical safety as I try and save a buck.  I can still only work about 2 hours at a time before I need a break and a nap.  Today was pretty typical, though:

– Up at 6am, but unable to get my butt in gear due to gastric issues.

– Morning sinus headache, and fuzzy throat.

– Paid some bills, did some errands (went back home to pick up other things that I’d forgotten).  You know, a typical morning.  By 1pm, I’d gotten very little done that was on the original goal list or concrete, and needed a nap.  (Sigh.  I’m so tired of being tired!).

– Off to bed for 3 hours, and back up and about by 4pm-ish.  More gastric issues, and finally able to hit the road by 6pm.

… only to be stuck in traffic for an hour-plus trying to get to the new place during rush hour.

– Once at the new place, I figured out that I know diddlysquat about how to remove a damaged screen from a mobile home window (it wasn’t like any other screen I’d seen before).  So, we’ll put that aside and deal with the experts as the budget permits.

– Multi-tasking, I put in a load of laundry to wash, and it was back to painting the office / smaller bedroom.

One nice thing that I found was that it was blessedly cool at 7:30pm and beyond, which makes painting MUCH more tolerable.  (Duh!  Why didn’t I figure this out 2 weeks ago???).

Figured out that my new stopping time should be 10pm, if I’m working in the cooler evenings, as that seems to be when the lights on the homes around me retreat to darkness.

Back home by 11pm (because one needs to clean up their tools – the cleaning helper is driving me crazy by NEVER cleaning up after using my stuff, or actually putting my things away!).  Luckily, I figured out this evening (after fruitlessly searching for my tools) that a wooden paint stirrer makes a great spackling tool, so I will hopefully not give her the 3rd degree tomorrow when I try and figure out where my newest tool was tossed when she was done with it.

At midnight, I’m ready to have something small to eat (I know, bad diabetic – no food for 3 hours before bedtime), and head to bed so that I can get up and do this again tomorrow.

I’m racing the clock to get as much done as I can before the lino guys come on Thursday.  Fingers crossed that I can get both bathrooms painted before they arrive to replace those 2 floors and peel away the carpeting to expose the floors in 3 other rooms.

2 thoughts on “Managing Expectations

  1. You’re doing so much and it’s really AMAZING (to me). Maybe we only see our version of what we’re accomplishing, while toddling down the road, while others, outside our narrow view, see the big picture and are impressed, awed, amazed. It’s good to note that you’ve found a ‘comfort’ time zone for doing your painting and perhaps today (I think I’m reading a day behind) you can go an hour earlier and avoid the traffic. And as to your helper — if she’s not helpful in respecting your rules about your things (tools and cleaning particularly), um can you get someone else? It’s uber frustrating (to me anyway) to have someone who leaves stuff dirty and just puts it down when they are done, versus taking five minutes to wash it out or stick it in a pot of turpentine (as in paint brushes) or whatever… I bet you do meet your goal of two bathrooms painted before Thursday…Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Unfortunately, I just don’t have the heart to repeat myself again and again with the helper. If somebody just doesn’t “get it”, it’s fruitless to try and get through to them that it’s important to respect your stuff.

    Today was amazing, in that I couldn’t find the spackling knife, so I bought a set of 3 on the way over to work on the house windows.

    Wouldn’t you know it, before I even got to my job, she’d already opened the knives and was using one of the new ones already (and exactly the one I needed for the size of my spackling tin, LOL). I figure she’s there to teach me patience, and she was able to dig up my tool once I asked her this morning what had happened to it.

    Of course, then she noted that it was all rusty… Luckily, I know how to get the rust and stuff removed (once she’s done helping me), and her last day will be tomorrow as I’ve hit the IRS limit for not having to issue her a 1099 for working for me at $600. $601 and over, she needs to give me her tax info, and then we’ll keep on working. Trying to train someone new, with so few days of help left, is beyond my level of patience. So, tomorrow will be it and I’ll have appreciated her for all the help she provided up to that point.

    As for racing the clock until Thursday… time will tell. For today, that back bedroom sucked up even more paint, but both bathrooms have been scrubbed down, so I’m hopeful that I can get more painting done tomorrow to be ready for Thursday. I’m thinking I may need to push them out to next week to get the pressure off me, but we’ll see what happens after I get through the morning’s session.

    Like

Leave a Reply

