False Limitations.

5d97cbbebd89ac499f4ecec028aa5079

I have tons of things to get done, and not enough hours in the day.  Add in a heat wave, and my productivity drops even further.

What people looking at our lives from the outside don’t seem to understand is rationing of our time to only “required” tasks, imposing false limitations.

Suddenly, because we’re dealing with a chronic illness, we’re not allowed to find joy any more?  No more travel?  No more permission to have fun?

I find this imposition of false limitations from outside my tiny world incredibly aggravating.  I don’t owe anyone an explanation for how I’m doing on any given day.  And, unless you’re my landlord, I don’t owe you an explanation for what cluttered shape my house may be in when you spring an unexpected inspection on us.

As I was having a great big old pity party for myself, I found this other posting on Chronic Illness that talks about similar issues, and how to do more with less energy.  Interesting reading if you have a moment to check it out:

Chronic Illness and Pleasure Scarcity

Today, I’m doing the dishes.  Packing.  Battling the latest Ant infestation.  Packing.  Dying of the heat.  Packing.  Cleaning and organizing.  And, generally exhausting myself in order to satisfy some crazy landlord that I don’t want to deal with anymore.

Oh, and my tomatoes appear to have a lime insufficiency.  Or calcium.  Or epsom salts.  Something to make the bottoms of the plants turn brown.  Or, I’m just not picking them soon enough.

Whatever it is, my chorelist is long, and my patience is low.

So, I don’t have much to say that isn’t crabby.  Hope your day is going better than mine.

 

Leave a Reply

