Money, money, money, mon-eee

♪♫ Money♪♫ by Pink Floyd is on my brain because I *finally* did my 2014 and 2015 taxes.

Taxes - anything but

I have put off this evil moment for 2+ weeks (while also trying to buy a new home – and one has to have their taxes done if they are delinquent, or the home purchase won’t go through).  It’s not enough that the law says that I don’t have to do my taxes when I’m owed a refund for up to three (3) years from the annual filing date, before I risk losing that money.  Nope, Big Brother must have proof that one has done their taxes AND gotten the IRS’s confirmation that there are no outstanding liens, before one can finish the qualification process for a pre-approved loan.

Let me tell you, there was none of this extra rigamarole last year when I was pre-approved to buy a home and backed out at the last minute.  None.

But, as with all things that worry me, money is at the top of my procrastination list.

It’s not enough that I know I overpaid by $150 each pay period (Federal and State portions) so that I would never have to write the dreaded tax payment check on top of the paycheck deductions.

It’s not enough that I have a history of getting back enough money to take a wonderful trip each year.

I still dread doing my taxes “in case” I made an error.  In case it turns out that I’m going to owe them money.

So, I’m a bonafide member of the “I hate paying taxes” brigade, even though I understand my duties and obligations, and agree that it’s an important part of meeting one’s civic duties.

Neck locked up tight.  Shoulders aching.  I got both tax returns done and over to the CPA last night, and finished my loan paperwork with a 4506-T form allowing my taxes to be verified by a third party to ensure that I’m not delinquent.

I should have managed to shake this neck pain by about Tuesday of next week.

Not sure why taxes drive me so crazy – I have a good history of meeting my obligations and being prepared.  But, it just makes me sing that lovely Pink Floyd song and do anything but process them in a timely manner.

So, now that those are done, we’ll see what happens next to stress me out.  Luckily, it’s supposed to get cooler out here, so I’ll be hopeful that my sleeping and stress levels will improve in this battle to get everything done before I move.

♪♫ Money♪♫

Money, get away

Get a good job with good pay and you’re okay
Money, it’s a gas
Grab that cash with both hands and make a stash
New car, caviar, four star daydream
Think I’ll buy me a football team

Money, get back
I’m all right Jack keep your hands off of my stack
Money, it’s a hit
Don’t give me that do goody good bullshit
I’m in the high-fidelity first class traveling set
And I think I need a Lear jet

Money, it’s a crime
Share it fairly but don’t take a slice of my pie
Money, so they say
Is the root of all evil today
But if you ask for a raise it’s no surprise
That they’re giving none away
Away, away, way
(Away, away, away, away)

 

Leave a Reply

