Nominated. Homework time.

(smiling)

bk-cat-bl-sea-revisited

Another blogger, “Carabiensplash“, nominated my friend, Embeecee, the author of “Sparksfromacombustiblemind” for the black cat / blue sea award, and I – in turn – was nominated as a “blogger who strives to write for everybody, and no matter how many viewers they get, make an impact on the reader”.  That’s some pretty heady stuff right there, and very gratifying to know.

As part of accepting this award, there are rules to follow for nominating others.  While I’m not much on following the rules, here they are:

  1.  Anybody nominated can nominate up to seven other bloggers. 
  2. Anybody nominated answers three questions. The questions you ask while nominating can be any three questions. If any of the questions asked are offensive or one simply does not want to answer, it’s all good.  You still get the award.  You put in the work, right?  

As with others, I’m not big on putting people on the spot (hey, even my snarkiness called this “homework”, even though I enjoy the camaraderie of being a recipient and tagging others).

So, if you’re nominated and you care to play along, come on in !  The water is warm.  In my case, I’d re-nominate Embeecee, so I’ll skip that as the idea is for me to pick other folks to join who may not be someone you normally read.  If you read me, I’m hoping that you’re a regular reader of Embeecee’s, too, as she’s got lots of interesting things to say.

Therefore, my nominees are regulars to writing, as well as some writers who aren’t on here much anymore, but whom I still follow in the hope that they will pop up with something new to share::

2.  “Two Rooms Plus Utilities” by livinginalimitedword.com

3.  “Wheezing Away” by wheezingaway.com and who also writes as billydursens and crossdove-writer

4.  “COPD – MY JOURNEY & YOUR INFO HUB” by Gina Apple

5.  “Zebra Writes” by Sebsharpe

6.  “Police Commander” by policecommander

7.  “Problems with Infinity (Confessions of a Delusional Maniac)” by problemswithinfinity.com

As a nominee, the first three questions Embeecee was asked to address were:

  1.  Why do you blog? As in what do you get out of it, what does it do for you?
  2. What is your favorite thing to do? It can be whatever you enjoy (keep it clean though!) For example, activities like -camping, swimming, parties, driving, cooking, cleaning (? Yeah, I know some people…). Or just relaxing stuff like watching TV, reading, sleeping. Why is it your favorite?
  3. Where is the best place that you’ve ever been? Why?

*******************************************************

I will choose to answer those shortly, while also devising three (3) questions for any of my nominees (including Embeecee) who may choose to play along:

  1.  If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be, and why?
  2. If you could have any time back in your life to do over, when and why?  
  3. If you could do anything differently, what would you change, and why?  

*******************************************************

 

Meanwhile, the final three (3) questions that Embeecee asked of me were:

  1.  What is the wisest thing anyone ever told you?  Do you still quote it back to other people today?  Do you follow the advice?
  2. Do you like cats or dogs better?   No right answer for this one, I’m just nosy.
  3. Coke or Pepsi?   Or are you a person who prefers neither and thinks the whole ‘war’ between these two colas is a publicity gimmick designed to get us to drink more of our chosen beverage?  Tell us what you do like to drink!

*******************************************************

Pick anything you like among these 9 questions to be your three questions to reply to, or choose to reply to all nine(9).  It all depends on how much time you have, and how much you like questions and answer sessions, LOL.

Meanwhile, my answers to the above are as follows (please ignore alignment issues, this tool was driving me crazy today):

  1.  Why do you blog?  Purge.  Absolutely use it to clarify my thoughts, release my anger, write any sadness out of my system, and chronicle my journey through life as I battle worsening health and “the man” for getting what I’m owed (because I paid into it for 42 years, thank-you-very-much) from “the system”.  It helps to keep me calm, and keeps my therapy costs and bail bonds low, LOL.

    2.  What is your favorite thing to do?  (I can’t pick just one – sacrilege!).  I’d have to say that I’m a fan of anything involving water.  Fishing.  Snorkeling.  Sailing.  Sitting on the beach.  Wading.  Picking up shells and turning over rocks on the shore.  If the sun and sand and fresh air are involved, I’m your gal.  Although I must agree that sleeping is also high on the list.  Sleeping and eating.

3.  Where is the best place that you’ve ever been and why?  Oh, this is tough.  I’d have to say that it’s Great East Lake, NH, because that’s where I first learned to explore the world in between surgeries and hospital stays, and where I was first let off the leash to just be a kid and enjoy myself.  The sound of early morning reveille from the YMCA camp on the corner of the lake always started my day with a smile, and the joy of skinny dipping after dark and chasing fireflies before bed helped to end Summer days with a smile.  There’s never a bad day at camp.

4.  If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be, and why?  A boat, because there’s never a bad day on a cruise, and you wake up every day someplace new and wonderful, with adventures awaiting you.  And, all your stuff stays in the same place, so there’s no extra work for moving and packing, LOL.

5.  If you could have any time back in your life to do over, when and why?  I was a brat, so I know I need to make amends all over the place.  But, I don’t get the concept of do-overs.  Everyone did what they could with what they had.  Some parts of my life were really rough, and while I don’t regret them (as they made me stronger), I don’t want to try and fix anything as I like the person I eventually matured into being.  

6.  If you could do anything differently, what would you change, and why?  (See above answer, I’ve kind of co-mingled the questions).  

7.  What is the wisest thing anyone ever told you?  Do you still quote it back to other people today?  Do you follow the advice?  I’m going to have to divert to Gene Roddenberry for this one (yes, I’m a Star Trek nerd).  “That which doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”  I use this all the time in encouraging folks to rise above the damage they’ve endured and be resilient.  And, yes, I try and follow this advice.

8.  Do you like dogs or cats better?  I like cats and dogs equally, but… cats are less needy and I’m lazy, so I like the low-maintenance aspect of cats.  Plus, more landlords accept cats that won’t accept dogs.  If I had to answer about what I like best, though, it would probably be birds or fish, because we’re not really interfering with who they are when they are pets, and I enjoy bringing a bit of the wild indoors.

 

9.  Do you like Coke or Pepsi better?  Pepsi, but I’ve pretty much given it up unless I’m eating out.  Right now, I’m mostly Dasani 24×7, even when dining out, which I believe is a Coke product, LOL. And, yes, the cola war is a publicity gimmick as the only time I cannot tell the difference is when I get a fountain soda (the best) or Mexican cola (either Coke or Pepsi) with real sugar cane vs. corn syrup sweetener.

*******************************************************

 

 

Thanks for playing along for anyone who choses to jump in.

Leave a Reply

