Checkups and COPD

Scared Woman

If I haven’t made it clear before now… My doctor is a saint.  Truly.  He puts up with the craziness of his patients, the insurance companies, the federal government, etc., and still keeps his sense of humor.

Into this mixture comes me.  High maintenance.  Hates most if not all medicines.  Asking questions about what more can be done to prevent the overnight throat mucus.  (I’m already using enough eucalyptus oil in my bathroom to kill any insects that might want to wander in, and sleeping with my head about 4″ above my feet to promote drainage during sleeping).

The biggest recommendation is tea before bedtime.  Tea.  Yukko.  Might as well drink down some dirt, it’s just that unappealing.  And, that’s before one realizes that I stop all beverages about 7pm so that I don’t end up having an accident overnight due to other surgeries to tighten up my nether regions and give me more muscle control.

However, we talk about adding marshmallow (dietary supplement – not the candy) to my diet, as there is a theory that it may help with respiratory issues.  Oh, and add vitamin D, too.  Joy oh joy, but I’ll give it a try.

From there we get into where he’s at with the government paperwork, the lawyer’s requests, and the general level of nonsense to try and get me disability benefits.

Life threatening Illnesses

He laughs and tells me not to look at the portal (where the patients can see their stats) as it will sound like I’m dying.

Even though I have less than a liter FEV1 capacity (the Federal Government’s statistic for when one qualifies for disability benefits), he still had to list all of my illnesses in the most dramatic fashion, and he doesn’t want me to think I’m sicker than I am if I read it.

Seriously?

hypochondriac-1

So, we had a good laugh about the fact that I take joy in the fact that, during one of our disputes way back in 1996, he said I was going to die if I didn’t do EXACTLY what he was telling me to do.  We had quite a laugh over the fact that I take pride in the fact that I’m so stubborn, I’m still here.  And, I still pick and choose what I will and won’t do based on what my body says works for it.

There are plenty of days when I feel fine and wish I was working.  And then there are plenty of other days when it’s all I can do to drag my butt out of bed.  No answers here for how sick I am, but I’m still hoping that I will be able to be approved for benefits and then get into some sort of Federal program for “protected” workers so that I can find a job that won’t keep me in penury, and which also won’t fire me because I’m feeling like crap.

It’s still too soon to tell how this will all work out, but for now it’s as good as can be expected.

6 thoughts on “Checkups and COPD

  1. I used to have your view of ‘tea’. The only time I ever HAD to drink it was if I were sick. And personally? It made me feel a LOT sicker. Until I discovered herbal teas. They have such a HUGE variety you can get almost any combination any more. They seem to lean heavily toward orange and spice (which I loathe), but lemongrass and any of the lemony ones are pretty good. Berry (there’s a Cranberry Cove by Celestial Seasonings that is SO GOOD), apple (without spice if I can find it), and then there’s chai. Chai is WONDERFUL…. sigh<

    Liked by 1 person

  2. s, but it’s better than sugar or the substitutes ((to me)) ) and sometimes lemon juice or lime if I’m feeling frisky. It’s still tea, but you can dress it up and make it a really good hot drink. It’s not all that horrible base tea from when we were children. And about the nighttime issues? Depends, Poise and even Always have come up with some fine products for incontinence. I got some Always ‘adult panty diapers’ for after my surgery because I know I won’t always be timely in getting to the pot, especially if I can’t freakin’ walk very well. I’ve been using Poise incontinence pads for a couple of years as my bladder (apparently) gets more and more saggy/leaky/old. It’s much better than wet underwear (IMHO)..and it might be useful for you to consider, especially if you do get work and ever find yourself caught short. About work? Try (maybe your lawyer has already clued you into this option) try occupational rehab (after you actually start getting your disability). You already know trying to work while seeking disability makes the tool heads spin ’round and freak out. And lastly, I’ve got to stay OFF WebMD. I can find all sorts of unsavory diseases to match my ‘symptoms’. Lupus has me scratching my head though, because it’s possible that’s what the underlying cause of all my recent immune problems IS. I’m scared to ask the doctor actually though, because of that whole WebMD self diagnosing stigma. But if I keep getting sick out of nowhere, and feeling this crappy and I KNOW that my diabetes is under control, and it’s nothing to do with my bones deteriorating; I’ll have to gather my courage and ask. It’d be a relief actually to have my recent symptoms explained by something…

    Thanks for letting me hijack once again! >sigh<

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hijack away ! And, I’m wondering the same things about lupus or sarcoidosis for me (since my sis had sarcoidosis) and all of them are so very involved in the whole “inflammatory” issue.

      The latest craziness is that they now have a new breathing test which shows how “inflamed” I am on a particular day (that could be dangerous, LOL). In November, when I was feeling pretty good, I was a 9. January, when I felt like crap, I was an 11 and yesterday I was a 12 (even though I’m starting to feel better, despite the constant cough / congestion).

      Love the recommendation about poise, but being such a princess, I stick to the feminine hygiene pads vs. a full panty as my body just does not like the cotton substitutes and lack of ventilation down there, LOL.

      Like

  3. Word press is wonked out again apparently. The first part of that incredibly long comment is:
    I used to have your view of ‘tea’. The only time I ever HAD to drink it was if I were sick. And personally? It made me feel a LOT sicker. Until I discovered herbal teas. They have such a HUGE variety you can get almost any combination any more. They seem to lean heavily toward orange and spice (which I loathe), but lemongrass and any of the lemony ones are pretty good. Berry (there’s a Cranberry Cove by Celestial Seasonings that is SO GOOD), apple (without spice if I can find it), and then there’s chai. Chai is WONDERFUL…. ❤ Almost like being able to drink coffee again on a certain level…I add honey (I know, I know…a NO NO for diabetic

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

