Restrictions – Vacation, Part II

So, as I wrote in: Vacations – the Good, the Bad and the Ugly being in the sun for a week really helped dry out my crappy lungs from a long, damp, Winter.  Then, I wrote about my money troubles in Languishing, and I’m now pleased to say that my 2015 bonus (profit sharing, that used to be paid quarterly) paid out on the 15th, so I’m solvent, short-term, once again.  Phew !

But, that being said, the Roomie now wants me to join her in Maui on her vacation in May. And, the lawyer is up in arms that I went anywhere while my disability ruling is in question (because, apparently, handicapped people must only sit and wait to die.  Unless they’ve been approved for a “Make a Wish” event for a final trip.  Sheesh!).

Travel-Restrictions-300x300

Anyway, last night was all about the Roomie wanting me to spend the $$ now to buy tickets, and her refusal to understand that the lawyer put his foot down (even though he knew I was going on vacation on the cruise), and I’m not supposed to be going ANYWHERE until after the disability decision is reached by the Feds.

It’s a good thing that I rescheduled my plans to get to England until next year (bucket list item), as well as the Georgia Hot Springs / Cape Hatteras / Yellowstone national parks for “someday”.

There’s already been enough time this Winter when I could only sit and exist, that I’m not going to embrace that way of life any time soon.

If I don’t get these bucket list items done while I still can, there will come a time when I am physically unable to do so, or I will have run out of time.  I don’t resent sitting in a chair and doing nothing (another tell-tale that shows me my body IS winding down, because I’m too tired to be resentful).  However, to embrace the sedentary lifestyle before I must?  No way !

2 thoughts on “Restrictions – Vacation, Part II

  1. I don’t understand the unspoken ‘rule’ about those awaiting (or even ON) disability having to sit about waiting to die. If the wait-ee shows any signs of life, i.e. taking a vacation, doing volunteer work, smiling, laughing, etc etc….they are automatically eye-balled as being a malingerer or someone trying to scam the system. I received a disturbing letter last year from the gov’mint that said in essence “We want to make sure you’re STILL ‘sick’…benefits may be reduced or revoked if we determine you are not ‘sick’ any more.” I freaked out. Made several phone calls and went to my doctor and had her do a letter about my condition to send to them. Finally I reached someone ‘in charge’ in the disability office (I guess) who said “Oh we have to do that automatically, just ignore it.” Uh WTF?? My disability, like yours, is invisible. I LOOK (outside) like I’m fine. It really frightens me to think that the increasingly dim-witted are in charge of my future in the sense that they have my money and I’m reliant on them, and there may come a day when one of them decides since I can’t SHOW them my problems, I’m really faking it and should go back to work. Arrgh.

    I hope for you that the rest of the process goes better. That you can do the things you want (and can afford…that whole “you can’t travel if you’re awaiting disability thing really gets in my craw. THEY aren’t paying for it, YOU are. ). It should be YOUR choice. Happy trails my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks. It’s not the cost of the travel they care about, though, but the fact that I’m asking for the benefits I’ve paid into to be paid out before they have been earned. Seriously. If I die tomorrow, my $220k in paid up benefits becomes pure profit to their bottom line. I don’t “earn” those benefits until I’m 67, so how dare I get sick and hope to get for what I’ve paid for early? It’s that whole “entitlement” argument which has surfaced in recent years, as if I’d never paid into the system as a protection against exactly what has happened – my refurbished body has failed me and broken down prior to planned obsolence date.

    I know that I’m attached at the hip with the ERISA benefits lawyer for the next 12-15 years, as they can review and/or revoke my benefits at any time.

    I’m glad you got through the review process, though. The whole never ending aspect of being able to be reviewed and denied is very scary, and I’m still working through the initial approval / denial stages.

    Like

Leave a Reply

