Perspective and Rants

image

I was talking to a friend about purging myself of my aggravation through blogging.  It helps, because if I had to tell someone all the things that aggravate me daily, they’d feel like they were being held hostage and run away.  We were going through a problem she was having with her meds and the pharmacy, and was adamant that they were incompetent baboons who shouldn’t be allowed to live.  That’s a bit extreme as a retelling, but I hope you understand my paraphrasing.

When I rant online, participation is completely voluntary, as you can avoid the diatribe, hide the posting, or start to read my latest complaint, roll your eyes and move onto the next topic.

In many ways, it’s like having perspective.  You’re healthy enough to realize you don’t have to stay and listen, and I’m healthy enough to realize that no one needs to hear me whine.  I throw my aggravations out into the universe, and move on.  No harm, no foul.  Everybody wins.

image

I think it’s especially hard to keep perspective in our everyday, narcissistic little worlds, because at the end of the day, most of what many of us rant about won’t make a difference in an hour or a week, but will drive us insane if we don’t find a way to purge our souls of invective and move on.

As we’re aging or fighting a thankless battle in our lives, perspective becomes harder to maintain as our worlds are getting smaller as outside influences are being reduced.  We don’t leave home as much because it’s too physically challening, or aggravating or scary.

As we interact less with the world, our petty aggravations take on a greater importance because we’re losing the constant bombardment of negative stimulous to remind us of our insignificant place in the world. We foam at the mouth, and nobody cares because they are busy with their own realities and their own aggravations.  Which is as it should be.

In my case, there’s no blood; no dead bodies.  There’s just me screaming about insignificant first world problems as elsewhere in the world a real problem goes unattended.  Unresolved.  Unheard.  Indifference is rampant to wars, refugees, captives,  so why should someone give two flying figs about my insurance benefit battle when I’m housed and fed, and elsewhere in the world a child is being abused and exploited?

At the end of the day, it’s about perspective.  And compassion overload.  Setting priorities.

When we think about perspective, though, we need to learn to laugh at ourselves as well as learn to move along from whatever narcissistic thing is pricking our expectations of life, the world, and our place in the scheme of things.

We need to learn to laugh at ourselves and our fears, and find a way to deal with whatever life hands us on any given day as we can only control our choices in how we react to things we cannot change.

My friend left me a shamefaced voicemail that she’d found the Rx documents in an overlooked bag, after being so certain that she’d given the pharmacy tech the Rx’s to fill, and he (or someone) was withholding her meds for their own illicit use.

A brain is a terrible thing to waste.  As we’re aging and our worlds are getting smaller and more isolated, we need to remember to take a breath when impatient and frustrated.  Truly, the egg we feel on our faces if we are found to be wrong is not a meal I’d enjoy eating.

Go your own way.  Do your own thing.  For heaven’s sake, though, just keep it in perspective.

As for me, I’ve slept on it, and I’m still determined to cut off my nose to spite my face.  Comcast is getting it’s cable television equipment back due to a complete failure to provide any service at all last night after the upgrade.  Rabbit ears will work fine for me.  For now.

image

2 thoughts on “Perspective and Rants

  1. Bravo. I’ve never been a fan of Comcast, since, back in the late 1900s/early 2000s they messed with me and mine and were such dipwads that I have refused to even consider them ever since. As things fall into place you’ll find your own ways of amusing yourself. The idiot box should be at the bottom of that list (IMHO).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I agree the idiot box should be at the bottom of the list, but I like mindless company and music and news. It’s more “on” than being the focus of my attention.

    Thanks to our mutual friend on the Popcorn site recommending it, I also picked up a Roku (have to get brave enough to try hooking it up one of these days), so we’ll see how my new little world rights itself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

