Weightlessness

Used-Hilda-Fat-Swimmer

Swimming is my thing.

While I’m good at other parts of sports (dunking the basketball – no running; hitting the hockey puck or golf ball – which people also tell me looks a lot like I’m try to play hockey and not golf), my one love is swimming.  Next to swimming, I love to wade in rivers and streams, turning over rocks, watching the crayfish, eels and minnows darting about, and generally enjoying the sun on my bones and the top of my head.

There’s just something about the weightlessness of swimming that keeps me coming back.

As I’m feeling weaker, though (no idea why), the letdown when I come back on land outside the pool is very noticeable.  Almost like an astronaut, re-entering gravity.

As I have expanded my swimming options to embrace other pools and versatile schedules for swimming options, I am amazed at how many folks I’m running into with MS (multiple schlorosis).  While I’m strong enough to leave the pool and feeling the pressure on my body to try and entice me into going back into the weightlessness of the water, I am thinking the dragging pressure must be so much tougher on them.

They’ve added something like this aquatic chair to enable people without enough energy to get into and out of the pool so that they aren’t deprived of the therapeutic benefits of swimming:

image

Pretty amazing, how much progress has gone into making the local pools accessible to more potential users within the neighborhood.  Weightlessness.  It’s what makes exercise fun.  Or, at least “tolerable”,

2 thoughts on “Weightlessness

  1. I so fully agree!! I first discovered the ‘weightless” sensation after I began pool therapy after my first hip surgery. I could get in the pool and actually move around without pain, and for a while forget that I was lame. Getting out was a bitch though. It always felt like I re-gained 200 + lbs and that was the worst part of going to therapy…getting out of the pool. Maybe some of us (you and I for instance) were aquatic creatures in another life? Bears consideration. ‘Course I can’t swim for sour apples…but the floating and just walking around pain free IN the pool? BLISS!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, I never said I could swim well, either. I love the safety of my float belt, and was quite put out when yesterday’s instructor (a tiny, bird-like woman) made me take it off. I can swim, but I prefer to float.

    I’m so glad you found the joy of swimming, too, as it does wonders for my tired old body.

    Like

Leave a Reply

